What the Commissioner should do about Super Bowl L

Posted: March 29, 2012 by vindanton in Pro Sports

By: Vin D’Anton

The Super Bowl has become the biggest and most popular day in America, no doubt about it. We all sit around with a group of people to watch the game, fill out boxes, make friendly wagers, and root passionately for teams that we don’t give two shits about.

The halftime show is something that has become a big deal as well. At Super Bowl I, the halftime show was the University of Arizona and University of Michigan Bands…they did the National Anthem as well. In recent years, we’ve had National Anthems by Beyonce Knowles and halftime shows by Bruce Springsteen. That’s how far we’ve come and the Super Bowl is the biggest sports spectacle in the world.

As a football fan, I am impatiently anticipating Super Bowl L (50) because I know it is going to be something great with old time players and videos and such…but then I hear Roger Goodell speak about it…and I’m scared.

“We are looking at plans to make it spectacular,” commissioner Roger Goodell told the media on Wednesday, according to Profootballtalk.com.

Ugh…excuse me a second while I go vomit. I can’t even imagine what crap he is going to pull out of his hat.

“I do not know who is bidding on it,” Goodell said. “I know there will be quite a bit of competition for it … and that is an important game for us as a league.”

Are you freakin’ kidding me?! You’re going to let these animals that are the NFL owners bid on it like a bunch of children…moaning and groaning on why “their stadium” should host the most important Super Bowl we’ll ever have until 75 or 100!?

I do not want the most precious Super Bowl ever to be held in Dallas in that bougie stadium and I especially don’t want it to be in Santa Clara if that is where the proposed new 49ers Stadium is going to be. Why in the hell would you go modern?!

I really wouldn’t have a problem with Tampa Bay, New Orleans or Miami because they are legendary Super Bowl cities; but that is not where it needs to be.

If you really want it to be spectacular and special, there is only one place to hold the 50th Super Bowl; The Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.

What is so special about the Coliseum? Super Bowl I was held there. No need to worry about seats Rog, it fits 93,607 people so don’t give me that excuse if you give it to Dallas.

It is well known that the majority of NFL fans and critics (well the non-ESPN ones) are not big fans of Goodell. Some feel he has taken a lot away from “our” NFL, and has made mostly negative changes.

Mr. Goodell, you will be doing a huge disservice to NFL fans, the league itself, and America if you don’t do the right thing with Super Bowl L.

Leave a Reply

