The Blurred Line Between Games and Reality

Posted: March 28, 2012 by vindanton in Video Games

By: Jason Green

Call of Duty: Black Ops

A month ago at the GDC (game developers conference), Quantic Dream, the minds behind critically acclaimed games Heavy Rain and Indigo Prophecy, showed off an amazing tech demo that showcased their new game engine. The name of this video was simply titled “Kara

What struck me about this video was not the fact that it had more emotion in seven minutes than any of the Michael Bay movies; it was that it looked so real.  Watching that got me thinking; do we really need games to look anymore “real” than they already do?

It’s no surprise that games look better with each new generation of video game systems. The technology improves, there’s new ways of animating movements, and some games nowadays even use real life actors.

Take L.A. Noire for instance, the recently released crime drama developed by Rockstar Games. The graphics are amazing. The facial animations are probably the best I’ve ever seen in a game.

But do we really want to play a game that looks that real? A game where you shoot and kill people? I love playing games as much as any other hardcore gamer but there has to be a point where shooting a person in game looks a little “too” real.

My last example I’ll use is the Grand Theft Auto V trailer. Easily the best looking GTA ever, but it makes me think, whenever GTA VI is announced how much better can that possibly look? There has to be some point when the line is drawn between video game graphics and real life pictures.

The Uncharted series, developed by Naughty Dog, is known for being a pulse-pounding cinematic adventure and the main character, Nathan Drake, shoots bad guys left and right. Sure he’s the hero of the games but when you stop and think about it he’s a ruthless murderer also, and I think it would be a little unsettling if those games looked any more real than they already do.

Games like Call of Duty and Battlefield which exploit warfare as a fun adventure that rewards you for killing people, are admittedly entertaining but if they looked anymore real than they do, those games might paint a picture that says war is an addictive fun adventure.

So the question of the day is: How much longer before it’s hard to tell between a picture of a game character and a real life person?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to sound like a grumpy old man, I’m only 22, and I do play all the games I just mentioned. All I’m saying is when I shoot someone in the next Call of Duty or Battlefield, I don’t want it to look like I actually shot someone. Games look fine the way they are now and lets leave it at that.  

Comments
  1. Rich Green says:

    Wow! So when you gonna start your own blog?

  2. Jason Carubia says:

    Good job Jason! Very impressed man.

Leave a Reply

